Referee Accreditation

How do I become a referee?
Once you have decided that you would like to become a referee you must gain accreditation by attending and successfully completing a National Officiating Accreditation Scheme (NOAS) course.

There are five levels of Referee Accreditation, Squash & Racquetball Victoria through its Referee Committee is responsible for assisting with Club and State level accreditations. Squash Australia is responsible for National, Regional and WSF level Referee programs.

Club Referee

State Referee

National Referee

Regional Referee

WSF (World Squash Federation) Referee


Re-Accreditation / Updating

The Updating Policy has been designed to ensure that Australian Sport takes place in an environment where quality, standards, safety and personnel are of the highest order. All courses in the framework are accredited and referees are required to update every 1-4 years.

Why Update?
Updating ensures that referees stay abreast of rule changes in their sport. Updating also keeps referees in contact with the most up to date information. Updating will play an important role in ensuring that the referee environment is safe for all participants.

How to update
As with coaching once you have completed an accreditation course the 'update clock' begins. When your initial accreditation is processed you will receive an accreditation card which shows your expiry date. Club level accreditation lasts for 4 years, State for 2 years and National annually. 

How much does it cost to update?
There is currently no cost to update.

For further information on referee development contact Squash Victoria, 9682 2199 or email